Book Reviews

Unlikely Neighbours by Gill BuchananReviews on Amazon for Unlikely Neighbours


5 Gold Stars  Wouldn’t it be nice if all neighbours were like this? 1 Dec 2014

By Keith in Reading  (Kindle Edition)

Unlikely Neighbours explores how neighbours view each other in the light of their own circumstances. And yet this book also shows what can be done through friendliness, collaboration, understanding, sharing and kindness.

Each neighbour character is revealed by their methods of communication, speech patterns, thought processes and behaviour. The initial reaction is annoyance, frustration or a heart-felt response for each of the neighbours’ problems. Each chapter introduces them as a certain personality, but you see how this changes as the book develops, as they interact with each other as the story unfolds.

This is a nice little story told from the context of each neighbour. There are cross-overs, misunderstandings and explanations, but that is what you would expect from individuals. The outcome is satisfactory and believable, as well as gratifying.


5 Gold Stars   A perfect choice. A gentle story weaving through the lives …, 5 Nov. 2014

By saxbystudents   (Paperback)

I had saved this book to read on holiday, and it was a perfect choice. A gentle story weaving through the lives of neighbours interestingly told from each character’s perspective. Looking forward to the next book.


5 Gold Stars   Style of writing is easy to read, 6 Aug. 2014

By Catherine   (Paperback)

Gill’s, style of writing is easy to read. This is a delightful book that once you pick it up, you won’t put it down. One is able to relate to the characters, enjoying the activities of their daily lives as they become entwined. I would highly recommend this for anyone who is looking for a light hearted holiday read or just simply to curl up with for the weekend. Enjoy!


5 Gold Stars  Couldn’t put this down, 10 July 2014

By Mariannio   (Kindle Edition)

I couldn’t put it down. I rarely read this sort of book, I normally favour thrillers. But for a couple of days, I didn’t watch telly, in fact I didn’t do much of anything except read this.

I would thoroughly recommend it as a light hearted read. Looking forward to reading the next book.


5 Gold Stars  Curl up and escape! 16 Dec. 2013

By J. Bennett (England)   (Paperback)

A lovely escape to the world of these unlikely neighbours. I became completely engrossed with the characters and didn’t want to put the book down at all. A cosy, comfy read – ideal for on holiday or whilst curled up snugly during the winter.


5 Gold Stars  Perfect for those autumn afternoons …., 3 Sept. 2013

By Katie Day  (Paperback)

This is a great book, I really enjoyed. Gill’s style of writing is easy and accessible and this is the perfect book for curling up in front of the fire as the autumn afternoons draw in. Buy it, you won’t regret it.


Gold stars  It all adds up, 30 July 2013

By Oscar B   (Kindle Edition)

This tale of mis-matched neighbours is unusual as it is written in the first person by each of the main characters. Because of this it takes longer to get into as a reader; but it is well worthwhile as it all adds up in the end


Gold stars  Perfect holiday read, 31 May 2013

By Cherry   (Kindle Edition)

Written with a light and confident touch and I agree, it certainly does not feel like a first book. Gill draws you into the lives of her characters so you genuinely want to know what happens to them all. I enjoyed the way the story is presented from the different perspectives of each person. An easy read for your holiday.


Gold stars  Enjoyable and thought-provoking, 22 April 2013

By Jack Barrett   (Kindle Edition)

Not my usual choice of book – I’m usually drawn to thrillers – but this made for an enjoyable change. The writing skips along, mixing a real sense of fun with deeper – sometimes even darker – interludes. Great first book.
5 Gold Stars  Poignant and witty, 19 April 2013

By Tom Evans “Author of New Magic for a New Era” (Surrey, UK)   (Kindle Edition)

This book has the feel of a novel that has come from the pen of a seasoned author on their 10th book or so. I find it hard to believe this is book #001 !

I love the way the plot swings around from perspective to perspective of the characters, learning more and more about their machinations as we get sucked into the minutiae of the Middle England world.

More please !!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *